National Championship News

Charleston Wins Match Race Championship!

College of Charleston wins Match Race Nationals Charleston edged out Dartmouth to secure the Cornelius Shields, Sr. Trophy. Teams representing California, Washington D.C, Florida, Texas, South Carolina, Maryland, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Oregon, and Michigan competed in Charleston’s fleet of identical J-22s Friday thru Sunday on Charleston Harbor.

Georgetown University’s Nevin Snow ’16 led Eckerd College and Texas A&M University at the end of the first Round Robin. The racing concluded with a regatta dinner at the Carolina Yacht Club in downtown Charleston, South Carolina. Southern hospitality at its finest!

Day two brought dynamic conditions as ten teams were challenged by a strong cross current. The repechage and quarter finals were sailed in what’s referred to as ‘the marsh’ adjacent to the Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge in the Cooper River. Sophomore skipper, Christophe Killian, with seniors Reed Baldridge, Jake Reynolds, and Beka Shiff bested the St. Mary’s College of Maryland to advance to the semifinals.

Charleston and Dartmouth defeated Eckerd and Georgetown respectively in the Semi Final Round. Sophomore skipper, Charles Lalumiere, and senior crews, Nathaniel Greason, Abigail Rohman, and Hope Wilson of Dartmouth came from a 2-0 deficit to force a match 3 with Charleston. A black flag on Charleston secured another win for Dartmouth in match 4. The Cougars gained a lead on the second upwind, match 5, and narrowly crossed the finish line ahead of the Big Green to claim the title.